top of page

6 Things I've Learned About Style


Clothes hanging in a closet in a variety of colors: black/orange/floral print/blue


Oof these last two weeks…haven’t been bad, but haven’t been great? Just busy with work chaos and the weather went to heck (we went from 70s to 40s with rain and sleet). But hey, still here posting and May is just around the corner! Hurray for that!


SO…I wanted to do something different for this post, because why not? I’ve recently been really working on redoing my closet, going through clothes to find my favorite pieces, thinking about how my style has changed. Given that, I thought it would be fun to cover 6 things I’ve learned so far in style.


  1. Style changes as years go by. There’s a lot of pieces of clothes I’ve come to notice are from my time in college. But my life in college and my life now are incredibly different, I’m no longer a teenager, I work in an administrative setting. And that’s okay. It’s okay to no longer like those skinny jeans that I wore for weeks on end. It’s okay for my closet to be shifting into something more mature.

  2. Try new things. This sounds pretty simple in theory but it’s not easy getting out of your comfort zone! For example, I used to never like really girlie dresses, but then I gave them a try and realized there’s certain variations that I do like. Or casual t-shirts, there’s not many I like but I’ve learned there’s a few that I love styling. You just never know what you may learn that you like.

  3.  Follow trends that YOU like. As we get closer to summer, the rattan and crochet bags are everywhere, they are probably one of the most popular bag styles out there for late spring/summer. And trust me, I’ve tried to get into them, but I just can’t. I just don’t get enough use out of them, so I’ve stopped buying them. However, red is trending in the clothes world, and I love red, so I have a red handbag that I know I can style with a variety of outfits. The point here is the popular item may just not be you, and that’s alright. You do you.

  4. A needle and thread are your best friend. For the longest time I thought hemming and sewing was too hard, there was no way I’d be able to figure it out. Low and behold: YouTube. There are so many videos out there on the basics of hemming/sewing. Not to say I can completely alter a dress, but I can now hem a dress to a certain extent, sew up holes. Just a helpful skill for items that are getting older.

  5.  Certain styles look different on different people. I mentioned earlier for you to do you. Which is true, but something to keep in mind as well is being reasonable about what you buy. Such as a light lilac maxi dress will look beautiful on one person, but on me would be another story. I would be swimming in the fabric since I’m below 5 feet, and the light color could potentially wash out my skin tone. Am I saying I should only stick to what works specifically for me based on body type/skin tone and not try new things? NO. But I have experienced countless times that based on my height, a longer dress will be difficult for me to make work. Pastel colors don’t always look great on me. This is just something I’ve come to keep in mind before purchasing an item.

  6. Recreating outfits is the way to go. You ever have those times where you see someone in a beautiful sweater, find that exact sweater, and learn that it’s not within your budget? This a regular occurrence for me. There are so many options out there to recreate an outfit, inspiration is everywhere. For example, I’ve seen Farm Rio dresses really becoming popular, and there’s a lot of beautiful colors and prints but are very high priced. But if you do a bit of research on the design, color, and dress style: chances of you finding something similar and just as beautiful are high!

That’s all for now, I’ll be back soon!


E.H.

Comments


bottom of page