top of page

8 Items that are Staples in a Closet


Graphic that includes a blank tank top, black slacks, wide leg jeans, white button down shirt, wide brim straw hat, black midi dress, black flat shoe, and a white structured bag

I can’t believe it’s May, how has time flown by so quickly? Can’t wait for summer, let’s jump into this post!

Now I know I’m always making a point about outfits and styles that are reliable. And I know I’m more than likely sounding like a broken record by now. But seriously, when the day is hectic, and you need to whip out something from your closet that’s dependable, it can be hard if you have a variety of items staring back at you.


Without further ado…8 items that are staples in a closet! I've linked a variety of items below and the graphic is numbered for each item.


1.     Black/white tank. Black and white shirts are classics that go with everything. Have a multi-color skirt, but you don’t know what to pair it with? The white tank. Need to create a seamless all black outfit? The black tank. These are simple pieces that are so versatile that they work with any type of bottom.


2.     Black slacks. Even if you don’t work in an office setting, a pair of black slacks are a staple for any professional setting you may find yourself in such as a job interview. There’s also so many options out there from wide to straight leg.


3.     Straight leg jeans. I didn’t used to be a believer in straight leg, but after trying the pair I have linked, I believe! So far, I’ve seen wide leg styled on a variety of body types and heights (if it can look good on my hobbit height, I’m impressed). Given that, I think it’s a tried and tested jean style.


4.     White button down. I used to think the white button down I had could only be used for a business shirt, but there’s so much more to it! You could use it as a white cover up for a swimsuit, pair it with a tank for a casual or office look, there’s just a lot of options.


5.     Wide brim hat. With summer right around the corner, a wide brim hat is a must. I got mine at Target and the quality is wonderful, especially for the thickness of the straw, and the design.


6.     Midi Black Dress. Black, although colorless, can be one of the most forgiving and slimming hues, especially in a dress. You want something romantic? Sophisticated? Flowy? Breathable? All of these traits are possible in a midi black dress.


7.     Black flats. A simple black flat are basic but they go with everything. I think one of the best things about a black flat is even though they are black, there's HUNDREDS of colors they can go with.


8.     Structured bag. A bag that has a strong structure or shape can elevate most outfits. Personally, I prefer a black because of its versatility, but white is a great option during the sunnier seasons.


And here we are once again, I hope anyone reading this got some ideas for items to have in their closet. I promise I’ll be doing outfits again in the near future, but life has been crazy busy and I’m planning out what I want to post on next. Until next time!


E.H.

Comentários


bottom of page