top of page

An Introduction




Cream sweater with pearl buttons, black shoulder bag, black slacks, and blank kitten heels

Not sure how you got here, but to kick this blog off, a little about why I’m doing this.


I’ve tried to do the blog thing in the past, and truthfully, I’d never dedicated myself to it 100%. Never had enough time, never had the confidence…a whole list of things. I’d self-published an e-book back in 2020 with the sudden thoughts of what would happen if the world collapsed. Nothing like a pandemic to make you want to accomplish things!


I developed an interest in fashion in college, finding that no matter how wack adult life was, a little black dress was dependable (unlike your hungover classmates). Tried outfit flatlays, but wasn't sure where to go with it. Tried a little at marketing my book, with never enough time to do more.


Now that I’m out of college, got a job, I kept thinking: my bills are paid, got my family, my life is fine. Fine. Why in the hell have I settled for fine? Why the hell am I not writing more? Why did I start wearing crumpled shirts that had as much structure as a collapsed souffle? Seriously, what the hell was I doing? What was I waiting for, an invitation to pursue the interests that actually made me happy?


So now here I am, typing out this aggressive rant in hopes I can somehow escape “fine” and one day be a full-time writer whose closet could make any girl's eyes light up.


I saw this meme of Luke Skywalker (apologies, Star Wars is magical), it showed him about to die because as usual he couldn’t get his crap together (too true in adult life), and the caption read much like a diary entry: My goals for the new year: Wear more black and put up with less (bleeped out word that Luke Skywalker would NEVER say).


I couldn’t put it more perfectly. So, here’s my first post, cheers to escaping fine, to telling stories, and celebrating heels that look like heaven and sometimes feel like hell.

           

E.H.

Comentários


bottom of page