top of page

Going Out

An all-black outfit that includes, high heels, a pleated skirt, a small clutch purse, gold watch, and satin sleeveless blouse.

How is it possible that it’s already 2024? Boy does time fly by. Anyway, to celebrate the new year, here I am all dressed up. This is how I looked for dinner on New Year’s Eve, but it’s a simple and cohesive look that could be used for almost any special occasion.


This is two separate items, a black pleated skirt (similar), and a black satin top. I was pretty surprised by the top because it looks like it has no give, but in reality, it’s a trick! There’s some great stretch and I felt pretty comfortable throughout the night. The skirt is also deceptively simple but has a glittery band to accentuate the waist.


I think something that I’ve really come to appreciate when putting together an outfit is the importance of accessories and shoes. They can improve an entire look. My shoes (similar) are so old, they were from a store called Payless (Remember Payless? Did you just experience a blast from the past?) A black heel is always reliable, especially a heel that has a cool detail (you can’t see it, but my shoes have a glittery

design and a wave shape on the sides).


My purse is pretty special, I got it from an antique shop for seven dollars! Seriously, go dig through antique stores, you will find some gorgeous accessories. Funnily enough my favorite thing about this look is the watch. It’s a simple square design but it’s so stylish, and it’s a great size for my wrist.


Well, that’s all for today, hope any readers had a great kick-off to the new year!


E.H.

Comments


bottom of page